::Departments : Pre Clinical : Anatomy


            The department to function in the tiled sheds, in 1954, when the College was started for Under Graduate students, with Dr. Sarah J. Sowri as the Professor and Head of the Department of Anatomy and Principal of Madurai Medical College. She designed the infrastructure of this department with her able assistants Dr.T.S. ChelvaKumaran next took over the charge of the department in 1955. He assisted by his colleagues, Dr.T. Narayanasamy, Dr.T. Jeyavelu, Dr.S. Ramasamy and Dr.M. Muthu developed the department in the second floor is an attraction to one and all.

           The DEPARTMENTAL MUSEUM was designed,. Specimens were prepared and were arranged by the energetic  efforts of  Dr. Chelvakumaran and Dr.K. Ponnuchamy. This museum even today is appreciated by Anatomists all over South India.  
           The department was recognized for Post Graduate study in 1959. Eminent Anatomists like Dr.M. Muthu, Dr. SaradhaKathiresan, Dr.T.S. Ranganathan, Dr.Cecilia Isaac, Dr.N. Subramaniam, Dr.S.R. Sachidhanandham, Dr.S.P. Banumathy, Dr.T. Hariharan, Dr. SheelaPrabaharan, Dr.D. Suguna, Dr.M.V. Ramasamy, Dr.S.P. Thangaraj, Dr.A. Bertha, Dr.S. Rathinasamy and Dr.V. Rajaram were some of the noted qualifiedfaculties  from this department. 

            Dr.M. Muthu became the Head of the Department in 1970. He improved the research facilities in the department. While he himself registered and got the Ph.D. degree. He later became the guide for Dr. Esther Revathy, Mrs.S. PremaKumari and Dr.S.P. Banumathy who obtained Ph.D. degree under his guidance in this department. The other professors who worked during his period where Dr.T.S. Ranganathan, Dr.N. Subramanian, Dr.T. Kadhirvelraj, Dr. Mathew Tharian, Dr.S. Ramanathan and Dr.P. Thiruvengadam.     
            In 1982, the department was upgraded as Institute of  Anatomy and Dr.M. Muthu, in 1983, became the first Director.  

Academic activities:
Type of course – Medical

Name of the courses offered:

Medical:                    MBBS, MD(Anatomy)
Para medical:           BSc, MSc(Nursing)
                                 D Pharm. BPharm (Pharmacy)

Prizes and awards:

Life time achievement award by the TN DR MGR Medical university received by
                 Dr.T.S.Renganathan and Dr.SP.Banumathi
Best teacher award by the TN DR MGR Medical university received by
                 Dr.V.Rajaram  and Dr.S.Ezhilarasan.
Best paper award of association of anatomists, tamilnadu received by Dr.V.Rajaram.


Designed & Developed by

This site can be best viewed in 1024x768 screen resolution.